Country Guides on View All Country Guides
Visit ELTBOOKS - all Western ELT Books with 20% discount (Japan only)

Guide to Japan and Teaching English in Japan

January 07, 2009

Japan Maps

Japan is divided into 5 main geographical divisions: Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, Kyushu and Okinawa. The main island of Honshu is further divided into 5 regions: Tohoku, Chubu, Kanto, Kinki and Chugoku. The administrative system is divided as follows: Tokyo To (metropolis); Hokkaido Do (circuit); Osaka Fu, Kyoto Fu (urban prefectures); 43 Ken (prefectures). This system was introduced in 1888, with Tokyo being designated as a metropolis in 1943.

Click on the prefecture names below and it will take you to the English section (where available) of their respective official Web sites.

Japan's prefectures

The population of Japan is approximately 126,580,000 (August 1999). The most densely populated areas are the Tokyo metropolis and its port cities of Yokohama and Kawasaki and the so-called Kansai area, made up of Osaka, Kobe and Kyoto. While the population of the 23 ku (wards) that make up the city of Tokyo is around 8 million, the metropolis is home to almost 30 million people. The population of the Kansai araea is around 16 million.

Click on the cities in the map below to go to their Web sites.

Japan's cities

« What to bring | Main | Geography & Weather »



World Today